JEFF OBRIEN PILOTCAR SERVICES/OVERSIZEPILOTCAR.COM

OVERSIZE LOAD ESCORT, PILOTCAR, ILLINOIS PILOT CAR, IL ESCORT, IL PILOTCAR, ILLINOIS ESCORT,WA CERTIFICATION, WASHINGTON CERTIFICATION CLASS, PILOT CAR CERTIFICATION, PILOT CAR CLASS

Blog Post New Entry

THIS BLOG IS USED FOR ANNOUNCEMENT OF CLASSES BY ANYONE THAT IS A CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR IN ANY STATE THAT OFFERS A PEVO CERTIFICATION CLASS.  IT IS ALSO TO BE USED TO UPDATE THE INDUSTRY CHANGES THAT ARE TAKING PLACE. PLEASE INCLUDE A LINK TO YOUR SOURCE OF INFORMATION SO THAT WE CAN ELIMININATE RUMOR AND GET THE FACTS.

view:  full / summary

Minnesota requiring certification

Posted by jeffob on August 3, 2013 at 12:00 AM Comments comments (0)
Requirements: Rules - Pilot and Escort Vehicles These rules will become effective on January 2nd, 2014 " Overdimensional load " is a vehicle or combination of vehicles of a size or weight of vehicle or load exceeding the maximum specified in Minn. Stat. ? 169 , or otherwise not in conformity with the provisions of Minn. Stat. ? 169 . PILOT/ESCORT DRIVER CERTIFICATION PROCESS Minn. Rules 7455 Subpart 1. Certification course A . Drivers domiciled in Minnesota shall complete a pilot/escort certification course accepted, approved, or authorized by the department. Upon a driver's successful completion of a training program authorized by the commissioner, the training program must issue the driver proof of course completion. The commissioner shall issue a certification card to drivers who demonstrate that they are at least 18 years of age, possess a valid operator's license for the type of vehicle being operated, have successfully completed a training program authorized by the commissioner, and meet all additional requirements in this chapter. The cost of the initial certification course shall be set at $180. The cost of one additional four-year certification shall be set at $90. B. The Department of Public Safety partnering with Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) shall develop training curriculum and utilize experienced instructors within the department and MnSCU to provide the training through MnSCU facilities. C. The civilian course curriculum shall include, at a minimum, the following: (1) driver requirements; (2) vehicle requirements; (3) permitting and reading an overdimensional load permit; (4) pilot/escort vehicle positioning and maneuvering; (5) authority while escorting, flagging and traffic control; (6) insurance; (7) pre-trip planning and meeting; (8) communication; (9) height pole usage; (10) liability issues; (11) ground clearance; (12) route surveys and how to conduct them; (13) hours of service; and (14) railroad grade crossing safety. D . The law enforcement course curriculum shall include, at a minimum, the following: (1) permit review; (2) hours of service; (3) route planning; (4) pre-trip meeting; (5) vehicle positioning and maneuvering; (6) hand traffic direction; (7) following distances; (8) right-of-way rules; (9) traffic signals and signs; (10) duties - front and rear; (11) authority while escorting; and (12) crash incident management. Subpart 2. Certification period Initial certification is valid for four years from the date of issue. One additional four-year certification may be obtained through a mail-in or online re-certification process provided by a Minnesota-authorized training program. Pilot/escort drivers must attend a full certification course every eight years. Subpart 3. Certification reciprocity Pilot/escort drivers domiciled outside of Minnesota may operate as a certified pilot/escort driver with another state's certification credential, provided the course meets the minimum requirements outlined in the Pilot/Escort Training Manual - Best Practices Guidelines as endorsed by the Specialized Carriers and Rigging Association, Federal Highway Administration, in cooperation with the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, which is incorporated by reference. The department shall enter into a reciprocal agreement with any other state if that state demonstrates that its course meets the minimum requirements outlined in the Pilot/Escort Training Manual - Best Practices Guidelines referenced in this subpart and complies with the requirements in this chapter. DRIVER REQUIREMENTS Certified pilot/escort drivers and certified licensed peace officers operating a pilot or escort vehicle must meet the following requirements: A . be a minimum of 18 years of age; B. possess a valid operator's license for the type of vehicle being operated; C. have the issued certification card in the driver's possession at all times while in pilot/escort operations; D. when operating a vehicle in excess of 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight or gross vehicle weight rating, comply with the regulations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, parts 382, 383, 390, 391, 392, 393, 394, 395, 396, and 397; and E. if operating as a front or rear pilot car driver, shall not perform as a tillerman/steerman for the load being escorted. A tillerman/steerman shall not be in the pilot/escort vehicle when a steering activity is being performed. Fee: The cost of the initial certification course shall be set at $180. The cost of one additional four-year certification shall be set at $90. Other Pertinent Information: See also the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation Escort Requirements information and refer also to the OS/OW Trucking in Minnesota brochure and Oversize/Overweight Permits Fact Sheet.

JULY WASHINGTON CERT CLASSES

Posted by jeffob on June 26, 2013 at 11:40 PM Comments comments (0)

There are three Washington Pilot Escort Car Operator Certification Classes scheduled for July 2013   They will be held in DeKalb, IL, Montgomery, AL and Morgantown, WV. see my web sites for details and to enroll in the classes. www.pilotcartraining.com or www.oversizepilotcar.com .  Call me if you have questions 630-258-4901.

SOUTH DAKOTA BUSINESS LICENCE AND TAX REQUIREMENTS

Posted by jeffob on September 27, 2011 at 12:15 AM Comments comments (1)

THIS INFORMATION HAS BEEN COPIED FROM AN EMAIL SENT BY SOUTH DAKOTA

Pilot Car Services

Pilot car services can be taxable services in South Dakota. The purchase of a pilot car to notify oncoming traffic of over-width loads, slow moving vehicles, or other traffic hazards are subject to sales tax. The service remains taxable regardless of where the service ends if the origin of the trip is in South Dakota. Pilot car services which originate in another state but pass through or end in South Dakota are not subject to South Dakota sales tax.

Example: A pilot car is hired to lead an over-sized load from Sioux Falls, South Da­kota, to Denver, Colorado. South Dakota state sales tax plus Sioux Falls municipal sales tax apply because the origin of the trip is in South Dakota.

Pilot car services are often purchased by highway contractors to lead motorists through construction zones. These services are exempt when the prime contractor of the project provides a Prime Contractors’ Exemption Certificate to the service provider. Without the exemption certificate the services are subject to the contrac­tors’ excise tax.

For more information about the tax-ability of pilot car services you can  call toll free 800-829-9188

 

Our website to apply for a sales tax license is www.state.sd.us/taxapp.

 

 

Revenue Agent

Toll free: 1-800-829-9188

 

OKLAHOMA NEW REQUIREMENTS

Posted by jeffob on September 4, 2011 at 4:30 PM Comments comments (0)

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA HAS PUBLISHED NEW REQUIREMENTS IN EQUIPMENT AND INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS.  YOU NOW NEED 2- 24INCH STOP/SLOW PADDLES EFFECTIVE JULY 11,2011 AND YOU MUST HAVE NEW UINSURANCE REQUIREMENT IN 2012. I HAVE INCLUDED A LINK FOR YOU TO VERIFY THIS INFORMATION. http://clgt.okstate.edu/escort.htm

GEORGIA UPDATE

Posted by jeffob on June 2, 2011 at 5:58 PM Comments comments (0)

Certified Escort Vehicle Program

Georgia Department of Transportation will recognize escort vehicle operator certifications from other states whose programs meet or exceed the objectives of the Georgia program for operators that currently have a valid out-of-state driver’s license and certification. The programs accepted include the following states: Washington, Oregon, Utah, and Arizona. The Georgia program reciprocates with the following recognized states: North Carolina, Florida, and Oklahoma.Training Certification

THE ABOVE STAEMENT IS REPRINTED FROM THE GEORGIA DOT WEBSITE A LINK TO THAT SITE FOLLOWS

http://www.dot.state.ga.us/doingbusiness/permits/oversize/Pages/default.aspx

 

Georgia update

Posted by jeffob on May 12, 2011 at 3:42 PM Comments comments (1)
I just got off of the phone with the State of Georgia, they are now accepting certifications from the following states North Carolina , Florida , Oklahoma, Washington , Utah , Colorado , and Arizona

Rss_feed